Ascher and Scott on Trusts (5th Edition) by Mark L. Ascher, Austin Wakeman Scott & William Franklin FratcherNow including all eight volumes updated in this Fifth Edition, Scott and Ascher on Trusts, formerly published as Scott on Trusts , is widely regarded as the leading authority on the law of trusts. Scott and Ascher on Trusts offers practical advice on the creation, administration, and termination of all kinds of trusts, as well as incisive analysis of the underlying principles of trust law. The duties of trustees and the rights of beneficiaries, would-be beneficiaries, and third parties are constantly being changed and redefined. This preeminent resource keeps you abreast of the latest developments in trust law, enabling you to resolve trust problems efficiently and effectively with regular updates integrating the latest court decisions and legislative changes. Scott and Ascher on Trusts allows you to examine the full range of your options at every stage, from client counseling to final distribution.
Irrevocable Trusts by George M. TurnerThis volume provides step-by-step coverage on how to draft & implement an irrevocable trust. Sample documents, forms, letters, wills, revenue rulings, & case law relevant to irrevocable trusts are included in the book. The income tax issues relating to the valuation of assets being transferred to the trustee are discussed in detail.
Practical Guide to Estate Planning (2021 Edition) by Ray D. Madoff, Cornelia R. Tenney & Martin A. HallPractical Guide to Estate Planning provides an overview of estate planning, offering the widest discussion on planning principles and tools from the simple to the sophisticated. This book is not lacking in detail, as witnessed by its well-annotated collection of forms that will appeal to many experienced estate planners. The layout of this book reflects its emphasis on simplicity and clarity. Its scope includes a general overview of the estate planning process. It then addresses the rules involved in estate planning and the various ways in which estates may be structured to achieve desired tax effects. It goes on to discuss gifts, and some of the more specialized areas of estate planning, including generation-skipping transfer tax rules and charitable planning, which encompass the use of private foundations and split-interest trusts. Finally, Practical Guide to Estate Planning contains a set of estate planning forms. Included are a living trust, an irrevocable life insurance trust, an annual exclusion trust, a pour-over will, a will with outright dispositions, a codicil, a living will, a charitable remainder unitrust, a durable power of attorney, a health care proxy, a qualified personal residence trust (QPRT) and a Grantor Retained Annuity Trust (GRAT). The authors provide alternative drafting options as well as comprehensive annotations that can be used as quick references that explain why and how these devices operate. This reference, with its wealth of basic information as well as its impressive assortment of forms and supporting materials, offers something of interest for everyone. Its clarity and organization, augmented by well-constructed examples, practice tips, diagrams and charts, make it a work that will be useful to both the newcomer and the experienced practitioner in the field. The 2021 edition addresses the rules involved in estate planning, the various ways in which estates may be structured to achieve desired tax effects, and a new section discussing deductibility of cash gifts to public charities under the coronavirus (COVID-19) legislation. In addition, the chapter entitled "Estate Planning with Retirement Benefits" contains complete coverage of the SECURE Act.