Subject Guide
Hornbooks and Nutshells on Criminal Law
Criminal Law in a Nutshell by
This guide helps you gain an overview of and develop perspective on the area of criminal law. It is organized into eight sections for quick reference. Expert discussion explores punishment, specific crimes, and the ingredients of a crime such as mens rea and actus reus. Other topics covered include special defenses, the burden of proof, and inchoate and group criminality. It also reflects on the limitations of criminal law.
Call Number: KF 9219.85 .L63ISBN: 9781685610654Publication Date: 2024
White Collar Crime in a Nutshell by
This text provides a broad overview of white collar crime, including procedural and evidentiary issues. It covers specific offenses such as mail and bank fraud, securities fraud, obstruction of justice, bribery, the Racketeer Influenced and Corrupt Organizations Act (RICO), and computer crimes. It covers procedural topics such as those related to grand jury and administrative agency investigations, self-incrimination, and parallel proceedings. Also discussed are punishment and sanctions for white collar crimes.
Call Number: KF 9350 .P63ISBN: 9781647082864Publication Date: 2021
Criminal Law by
LaFave and Ohlin's Criminal Law, 7th Edition is designed to function as the ideal Hornbook resource for the student studying Criminal Law. The book includes comprehensive treatment of all doctrines covered in the basic first-year Criminal Law course, regardless of which textbook the instructor uses. The materials are flexible and not keyed to a specific casebook. Doctrines are carefully explained and are thus ideal for out-of-class study to supplement more discussion-oriented casebook materials. Core topics of the Hornbook include:The underlying goals and purposes of the criminal law, including tensions between crime control and due process.Principles of statutory interpretation relevant to penal statutes.The competing rationales for criminal punishment, constitutional constraints related to sentencing, especially as regards to capital punishment and sentencing guidelines, and mental competency to stand trial.A comprehensive treatment of substantive crimes, not just "core crimes" such as all forms of homicide and sexual assault, but also all substantive offenses tested on the bar exam, including assault, battery, theft, robbery, burglary, kidnapping, and arson, and any other offense that might be included on a Criminal Law syllabus, including disorderly conduct, trespassing, and harassment.Modes of liability, including not just accomplice and conspiracy liability, but also solicitation and felony murder. The materials explore recent changes to the law in this area, including California's repeal of the felony murder rule.Inchoate offenses, including not just attempts, but also solicitation and conspiracy as inchoate substantive offenses.Doctrinal coverage of every justification and excuse, including self-defense, defensive force by police officers, necessity, duress, and insanity--including the competing doctrines for evaluating insanity arguments, and partial defenses such as diminished capacity.LaFave and Ohlin's treatment of the Criminal Law is so comprehensive that students are urged to keep the textbook for bar exam study and for initial practice as a criminal lawyer, since the Hornbook is useful as an easy-to-consult, one-volume, practice-ready reference work.
Call Number: KF 9219 .L38ISBN: 9781685612337Publication Date: 2023
Principles of Criminal Law by
Expertly written to provide comprehensive coverage of the most crucial issues in a course, the Concise Hornbook Series features concise analyses by prominent scholars of basic areas of the law. The Series focuses on core principles and concepts fundamental to understanding the subject matter. LaFave's Principles of Criminal Law provides detailed discussion on the topics of responsibility, justification and excuse, inchoate crimes and accomplice liability. The book also gives attention to subjects such as causation, insanity and conspiracy.
Call Number: KF 9219.85 .L34ISBN: 9781683285359Publication Date: 2017
Hornbooks and Nutshells on Criminal Procedure
Criminal Procedure: Constitutional Limitations in a Nutshell (9th Edition) by
This nutshell is intended for use by law students of constitutional criminal procedure. It is a succinct analysis of the constitutional standards of major current significance. This is not a text on criminal procedure, but rather about constitutional criminal procedure. It avoids describing the non-constitutional standards applied in each state and federally. The text provides the scope and highlights you need to excel in understanding this field. This will enable you to answer exam questions more quickly and accurately, and enhance your skills as an attorney.
Call Number: KF 9619.85 .I87 2020ISBN: 9781684672547Publication Date: 2019
Advanced Criminal Procedure in a Nutshell (3rd Edition) by
Designed for use as supplemental reading in an advanced criminal procedure course on the post-investigation processing of a criminal case. Includes a clear, concise, and thorough narrative explanation of the issues involved in the prosecution and adjudication of a criminal case, from the decision to prosecute and pre-trial release through to sentencing, appeal and collateral attack. Ideal reference for students and practitioners.
Call Number: KF 9619.85 .C36 2016ISBN: 9781634609197Publication Date: 2016
Criminal Procedure (6th Edition) by
This title analyzes the law governing all major steps in the criminal justice process, beginning with investigation and ending with post-appeal collateral attacks. All major themes are covered, with emphasis upon those basic issues deemed most significant in the case law and literature. Because of their special importance, leading Supreme Court opinions are given in-depth treatment. All Hornbook sections are cross-referenced to comparable sections of the authors' 7-volume Criminal Procedure treatise (readily available on Westlaw database CRIMPROC) containing more detailed analysis and citations to additional supporting authorities.
ISBN: 9781634603065Publication Date: 2017
Principles of Criminal Procedure (6th Edition) by
This book gives you everything you need to know about basic criminal procedure principles, presented in a no-nonsense fashion. It includes references to recent, relevant decisions handed down by the United States Supreme Court. In addition, Principles of Criminal Procedure contains helpful study devices such as "focal points" at the beginning of each chapter, and "points to remember" at the end of each section. This is the only study aid you will need to help you understand basic criminal procedure principles in U.S. law.
ISBN: 9781640202672Publication Date: 2018
