Library Guides: Constitutional Legal History: Databases & Websites

Search the Library Catalog

Enter Search Terms:

U.S. Government Printing Office

www.gpo.gov

The Hunter Law Library has been a federal depository library since 1972, and its federal depository collections are open to public use. For assistance, please contact any reference librarian or Kory Staheli, the depository library coordinator.

Recommended Legal Resources

These are resources to which the Hunter Law Library or the Harold B. Lee Library has purchased a subscription. Most subscription licenses require off-campus access to be limited to BYU law students and faculty. Other patrons are welcome to use many of these resources by visiting the library premises.

AMDOCS
More information …Hide …
A website dedicated to American History. Provides documents for the Study of American History. (AMDOCS) is a virtual library that links to primary historical documents portraying the spectrum of American history. Covers representative documents from the 15th through the 21st century.
America: History & Life (EBSCO)
More information …Hide …
A database focusing on the History of the U.S. and Canada. This database includes scholarly articles, book reviews and dissertations dealing with history in the Americas from pre-history to the present. Publication coverage is from 1964 to the present.

Documentary History of the Ratification of the Constitution This link opens in a new window
Contains primary documentary sources dealing with the debate over the ratification of the United States Constitution and the Bill of Rights between 1787 and 1791, hosted by the University of Virginia Press.
Traces the Constitution’s progress through each of the thirteen states’ conventions with convention debates, newspaper articles, speeches, letters, and more.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Large database of legal materials. HeinOnline is known for its extensive collection of law journals, but it also contains many primary law and legislative history sources such as state and federal session laws, the United States Code, Supreme Court opinions and the U.S. Serial Set, and world constitutions. HeinOnline also contains many specialized collections, including collections focused on capital punishment, immigration law, the history of international law, and gun legislation and regulation in America.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Journal articles and e-books. Excellent source for older articles, but articles from the most recent 3-5 years may not be available.

Letters of Delegates to Congress, 1774-1789
More information …Hide …
The twenty-six volumes of the Letters of Delegates to Congress, 1774-1789 aims to make available all the documents written by delegates that bear directly upon their work during their years of actual service in the First and Second Continental Congresses, 1774-1789. Published 1976-2000 by GPO, with a one-volume index.

Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, 1800-1926 This link opens in a new window
More than 21,000 American and British legal works: casebooks, local practice manuals, form books, works for lay readers, pamphlets, letters, speeches, and more — organized into 99 subject areas.
Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources, 1620-1979 This link opens in a new window
Over 3 million pages of primary legal documents such as constitutional conventions, city charters, law dictionaries, and state codes, ranging from the years 1620-1979.

Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)
http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?profile=ehost&defaultdb=wdh
More information …Hide …
World History Collection offers a global look at history with content from Africa, Asia, North and South America, Europe and the Middle East. World History Collection contains nearly 200 full-text titles, including many peer-reviewed journals. These carefully-selected information sources cover a wide range of historical topics including anthropology, art, culture, economics, government, heritage, military, politics, regional issues, sociology and more.

Subject Guide

Shawn Nevers

Email Me

Contact:

277C JRCB

Provo, UT 84602

801-422-8784

Subjects: Academic Legal Research, Directories, Legal Periodicals

Law Library

Constitutional Legal History: Databases & Websites

Search the Library Catalog

U.S. Government Printing Office

Recommended Legal Resources

Subject Guide

Contact Us

System Links

Connect With Us