Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Mormon Legal History 1900-1960: J. Reuben Clark era: State Law Commentaries

Legal history resources on Mormon lawyers and the legal profession during the life of J. Reuben Clark Jr. (1871-1961).

Search the Library Catalog

Enter Search Terms:

 

New Search | Advanced Search

Books, Articles & Bibliographies of State-Level Legal Analysis

Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, 1800-1926

1. This is under "A-Z Resource List" on top left of law library home page, then select "M."

2. Contains thousands of early legal treatises full-text in PDF format. The basic search is keyword. Use the topic searches to find books about a topic.

Online Catalog

Search both HBLL and law library. Many early legal commentaries have been gathered at BYU, with records in the catalog for 1) online 2) print, 3) microfiche, 4) archival, and other formats.

WorldCat (OCLC)

1. This database of books covers most libraries in the United States. This is a good resource for verifying the title or existence of a particular book.

2. This is linked from "Library Resources" tab on the law library home page.

Morris L. Cohen, Bibliography of Early American Law, 6 vols. +2003 supp. (1998): Second Floor Reserve KF 1 .C58 1998 V.1-6 (very comprehensive bibliography of American legal publications published prior to 1860)

HeinOnline - Legal Classics (1,400 older legal books on a variety of topics)

Law reviews (modern view looking back)

Use LexisNexis & Westlaw or Legal Trac indexes to search.

Use HeinOnline for PDFs of articles.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Iantha Haight
Contact:
277A JRCB
801-422-9023

BRIGHAM YOUNG UNIVERSITY

© 2012-2017+. All rights reserved. | Provo, UT 84602 | 801-422-3593