Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Mormon Legal History 1900-1960: J. Reuben Clark era: Utah lawyers & judicial biography sources

Legal history resources on Mormon lawyers and the legal profession during the life of J. Reuben Clark Jr. (1871-1961).

Google Scholar Search

Google Scholar Search

Google Web Search

Google Web Search

Search the Library Catalog

Enter Search Terms:

 

New Search | Advanced Search

Utah & Mormon biographical sources

Books and articles

James B. Allen, Ronald L. Walker, & David J. Whittaker, Studies in Mormon History, 1830-1997: An Indexed Bibliography (University of Illinois Press, 2000), Law Rare BX 8611 .A54 2000

James H. Backman, The Early Church and the Legal Profession (2004), http://www.jrcls.org/publications/perspectives/backman%20early.lds.attorneys.jan9.04.pdf (covers territorial Utah and James Henry Moyle)

Encyclopedia of Mormonism (1992), Law Reserve BX 8605.5 .E62 1992 V.1-5, online at: http://eom.byu.edu/index.php/Encyclopedia_of_Mormonism

Galen L. Fletcher, “Seeing the Elephant: 12 Western Legal History Sources,” in Clark Memorandum (Spring/Summer 1998): 43-45; available at: http://digitalcommons.law.byu.edu/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=1022&context=clarkmemorandum#page=45

Snow. Christensen & Martineau, "George Sutherland Commemoration," (Oct. 2011), http://www.scmlaw.com/george_sutherland_commemoration (includes biographical info, photos, and videos)

D. Michael Stewart, "The Legal History of Utah," in Allan Kent Powell, editor, Utah History Encyclopedia 322-326 (1994), Law Second Floor Reference BX 8606.5 .U82 1994, online at: http://www.uen.org/utah_history_encyclopedia/l/LEGAL_HISTORY.html; entire volume is online at: http://www.uen.org/utah_history_encyclopedia/

University of Utah S.J. Quinney College of Law History Project (2013), http://history.law.utah.edu/ (includes articles and photos on the 100th anniversary of the law school's founding in Salt Lake City, Utah)

Utah Historical Quarterly, Vol. 61, No. 3, Summer 1993: includes six legal history articles: Carol Cornwall Madsen, "'Sisters at the Bar': Utah Women in Law," pp. 208-232; John R. Alley Jr. "Utah State Supreme Court Justice Samuel R. Thurman," pp. 233-248; J. Allan Crockett, "Rembering A. H. Ellett," pp. 249-257; Roger Roper, "County Courthouses of Utah: A Photographic Essay," pp. 258-268; Regnal W. Garff, "The Emancipation of the Juvenile Court, 1857-65," pp. 269-279; and Don V. Tibbs, "An Affair with a Flag," pp. 280-283, online at: http://utahhistory.sdlhost.com/#/item/000000031000981/view/3

Jessica Van Buren, Research Guide: Utah Judge Memorials and Profiles (Utah State Courts, Rev. Dec. 2013), online at: http://www.utcourts.gov/lawlibrary/docs/judges_website.pdf

Jessica Van Buren, Research Guide: Utah Legal History Articles & Books (Utah State Courts, Rev. Sept. 2010), online at: http://www.utcourts.gov/lawlibrary/docs/legal_history_website.pdf

Marvin E. Wiggins, Mormons and Their Neighbors (2005), online at: http://www.lib.byu.edu/Ancestry/ (index to LDS biographical sketches in published works)

Relevant Databases

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Iantha Haight
Contact:
277A JRCB
801-422-9023

BRIGHAM YOUNG UNIVERSITY

© 2012-2017+. All rights reserved. | Provo, UT 84602 | 801-422-3593