In addition to the library's print collection of self-help materials, the reference staff has also compiled a list of online self-help resources for Utah, set forth below:

• Utah Legal Services: Internet Information and Free Legal Clinics Statewide
• Pro Bono Resources in Utah County 
• The Utah Online Court Assistance Program (OCAP)
• (OCAP) Criminal and Civil Court Processes
• (OCAP) Obtaining Legal Assistance
• (OCAP) How To
• (OCAP) Landlord-Tenant
• (OCAP) Free Legal Clinics Statewide
• Utah State Law Library: Free Public Classes 
• (Utah Courts) Mediation
• (Utah Courts) Model Utah Jury Instructions, 2d edition (2006)
• (Utah Courts) Filing/Record Fees
• Utah State Court Online Forms
• Other Utah State Court Online Forms
• Utah Legal Services (ULS)-Domestic Law Handbook
• ULS-Notice to the Landlord
• ULS-Handbook on Public Benefits
• ULS-Utah Renters' Handbook

Howard W. Hunter Law Library

Legal Research Guide #1B

Self-Help Materials

Self-Help Titles at Howard W. Hunter Law Library (BYU)
- Arranged by Subject

This is a partial list of self-help titles available in the Hunter Law Library.  Other self-help titles can be found by selecting "self help" when doing a catalog search on our home page or by browsing the Self-Help Collection in the Reserve Library.

Many of these titles are in the reserve library "Res", across from the second floor reference desk; those with a “3” in front of the call number are found on level 3 of the Law Library and those with a "1" are found on level 1.  In addition to the specific titles listed below, the library contains materials published by the National Business Institute on various topics of Utah law. These are found in the Reserve Library under the call number KFU.

Adoption

1. The Law of Adoption, by Margaret C. Jasper (Res:KF545.J37 2008)

AIDS

1. AIDS Law, by Margaret C. Jasper (Res:KF3803.A54.J37 2008)

Alternative Dispute Resolution

1. The Law of Alternative Dispute Resolution (2nd ed.) , by Margaret C. Jasper (3:KF9084.79.J87 2000)

Americans With Disabilities Act

1. Americans With Disabilities Act (2nd ed.) , by Margaret C. Jasper (Res:KF480.Z9.J37 2008)

Animals

1. Animal Rights Law (2d ed.), by Margaret C. Jasper (Res:KF3841.Z9.J37 2002)
2. Dog Law (3rd ed.), by Mary Randolph (3:KF390.5.D6.R36 1997)

Bankruptcy and Debtor/Creditor

1. Bankruptcy Law for the Individual Debtor, by Margaret C. Jasper (Res:KF1524.6.J3 1997)
2. Bankruptcy: Is It the Right Solution to Your Debt Problems, by Robin Leonard (Res:HG3766.L37 2000)
3. Chapter 13 Bankruptcy: Keep Your Property & Repay Debts Over Time (10th ed.), by Stephen Elias & Robin Leonard (Res:KF1524.6.L46 2010)
4. How to File for Chapter 7 Bankruptcy (16th ed.), by Stephen Elias, Albin Renauer, & Robin Leonard (Res:KF1524.E4 2010)
5. The Law of Attachment and Garnishment (2nd ed.) , by Margaret C. Jasper (3:KF9026.Z9.G37 2000)
6. The Law of Debt Collection (2nd ed.), by Margaret C. Jasper (Res:KF1024.Z9.J37 2001)
7. Credit Repair (5th ed.), by Robin Leonard (3:HG3756.U54.L36 2001)
8. Take Control of Your Student Loan Debt (2nd ed.), by Robin Leonard (3:LB2337.4.L46 2000)

Children and Juveniles

1. Juvenile Justice and Children’s Law (2nd ed.), by Margaret C. Jasper (Res:KF9780.J37 2001)
2. Your Child’s Legal Rights: An Overview, by Margaret C. Jasper (Res:KF479.Z9.J37 2003)

Civil Procedure and Evidence

1. Nolo’s Deposition Handbook (5th ed.), by Paul Bergman (Res:KF8900.B44 2010)
2. Your Rights in a Class Action Suit, by Margaret C. Jasper (Res:KF8896.Z9.J37 2005)

Constitution

1. The Law of Speech and the First Amendment, by Margaret C. Jasper (Res:KF4772.Z9.J37 1999)

Contracts, Commercial, and Consumer

1. Commercial Law, by Margaret C. Jasper (Res:KF889.6.J37 1998)
2. Consumer Rights Law (2nd ed.), by Margaret C. Jasper (Res:KF1610.J37 2008)
3. Credit Cards and the Law (3rd ed.), by Margaret C. Jasper (Res:KF1040.Z9.J27  2007)
4. The Law of Buying and Selling, by Margaret C. Jasper (Res:KF915.Z9.J37 1996)
5. The Law of Contracts, by Margaret C. Jasper (Res:KF801.Z9.J37 1995)

Corporations and Other Businesses

1. Buy-Sell Agreement Handbook (2nd ed.), by Anthony Mancuso & Bethany K. Laurence (Res:KF1659.Z9.M36 2003)
2. Consultant & Independent Contractor Agreements (6th ed.), by Stephen Fishman (Res:KF898.G567 2008)
3. The Corporate Minutes Book: The Legal Guide to Taking Care of Corporate Business!, by Anthony Mancuso (3:KF1414.3.M36 1998)
4. Form a Partnership: The Complete Legal Guide (8th ed.), by Ralph Warner & Denis Clifford) (Res:KF1375.Z9.C55 2008)
5. Form Your Own Limited Liability Company (6th ed.), by Anthony Mancuso (Res.:KF1380.Z9.M36 2009)
6. How to Form a Limited Liability Company, by Margaret C. Jasper (Res:KF1830.Z9.J37 2007)
7. How to Form a Nonprofit Corporation (9th ed.), by Anthony Mancuso (Res:KF1388.Z9.M36 2009)
8. Law for the Small Business Owner (2nd ed.), by Margaret C. Jasper (Res:KF390.B84.J37 2001)
9. The Legal Guide for Starting & Running a Small Business (10th ed.), by Fred Steingold (Res:KF1659.Z9.S76 2008)
10. Marketing Without Advertising (2nd ed.), by Michael Phillips (3:HF5415.P484 1997)
11. The Partnership Book: How to Write A Partnership Agreement (6th ed.), by Denis Clifford (3:KF1375.Z9.C55 2001) 
12. Protecting Your Business: Disaster Preparation and the Law, by Margaret C. Jasper (Res:HV551.3.J37 2008)

Criminal and Juvenile

1. Beat Your Ticket: Go to Court and Win! (6th ed.) by David Wayne Brown (Res:KF2231.B76 2010)
2. The Criminal Law Handbook: Know Your Rights, Survive the System (9th ed.), by Paul Bergman (Res:KF9619.6.B47 2007)
3. The Criminal Records Book (5th California ed.), by Warren Siegel (1:KFC1194.Z9.S53 1996)
4. Drunk Driving Law, by Margaret C. Jasper (Res:KF2231.Z9.J37 1999)
5. How to Seal Your Juvenile & Criminal Records in California (7th ed.), by Waren Siegel (1:KFC 1194.Z9 .S53 2000)
6. The Law of Capital Punishment (2d ed.), by Margaret C. Jasper (Res:KF9227.C2.J37 2008)

Domestic Relations and Family

1. Child Custody: Building Parenting Agreements That Work (7th ed.), by Mimi E. Lyster (Res:KF547.Z9.L97 2010) 
2. Custodial Rights, by Margaret C. Jasper (Res:KF547.Z9.J368 2006)
3. Divorce and Money: How to Make the Best Financial Decisions During Divorce (10th ed.), by Violet Woodhouse (Res:KF524.Z9.W66 2011)
4. Divorce Without Court: A Guide to Mediation & Collaborative Divorce (1st ed.), by Katherine E. Stoner (Res:KF535.Z9.S76 2006)
5. Domestic Violence and Abuse: How to Stop It! ( California ed.), by Cheryl Anne Woodard (3:KF9322.Z9.W66 1996)
6. The Law of Child Custody, by Margaret C. Jasper (3:KF547.Z9.J37 1997)
7. The Law of Violence Against Women (2nd ed.), by Margaret C. Jasper (Res:KF9322.Z9.J37 2007)
8. A Legal Guide for Lesbian and Gay Couples (14th ed.), by Denis Clifford (Res:KF539.L44 2007)  
9. The Living Together Kit: A Legal Guide for Unmarried Couples (14th ed.), by Toni Lynne Ihara (Res:KF538.I35 2008)
10. Living Together: Practical Legal Issues, by Margaret C. Jasper (Res:KF538.Z9.J37 2003)
11. Marriage and Divorce (3rd ed.), by Margaret C. Jasper (Res:KF510.Z9.J37 2008)
12. Nolo’s Pocket Guide to Family Law (4th ed.), by Robin Leonard (3:KF503.6.L46 1996)
13. Prenuptial Agreements: How to Write A Fair and Lasting Contract (3rd ed.), by Katherine E. Stoner & Shae Irving (Res:KF529.Z9.S76 2008)
14. Rights of Single Parents, by Margaret C. Jasper (Res:KF547.J377 2005)
15. Using Divorce Mediation: Save Your Money & Your Sanity, by Katherine E. Stoner (3:HQ834.S76 1999)
16. Utah Domestic Relations Manual, by Utah Volunteer Lawyers Project of Utah Legal Services, Inc. (Res:KFU100.Z9.D654 2002)
17. Utah Marriage and Divorce Laws, by Steve Averett (Res.:KFU100.Z9.A94 2007)

Education

1. The Complete IEP Guide: How to Advocate for Your Special Ed. Child (6th ed.), by Lawrence M. Siegel (Res:KF4209.3.Z9.S57 2009)
2. Education Law, by Margaret C. Jasper (Res:KF4119.6.J37 1998)
3. The Law of Special Education, by Margaret C. Jasper (Res:KF4209.3.Z9.J37 2000)

Elder

1. Elder Law (2nd ed.), by Margaret C. Jasper (Res:KF390.Z4.J37 2001)

Employment and Labor

1. The Employer’s Legal Handbook (9th ed.), by Fred Steingold (Res:KF3455.Z9.S74 2009)
2. Employee Rights in the Workplace (2nd ed.), by Margaret C. Jasper (Res:KF3455.Z9.J37 2003)
3. Employment Discrimination Law Under Title VII (2d ed.), by Margaret C. Jasper (Res:KF3464.Z9.J37 2007)
4. Hiring Household Help and Contractors: Your Obligations Under the Law, by Margaret C. Jasper (Res:KF3580.D64.J37 2005)
5. Hiring Independent Contractors: The Employers’ Legal Guide (3rd ed.), by Stephen Fishman (3:KF898.F57 2000)
6. IRAs, 401(k)s, & Other Retirement Plans: Taking Your Money Out (8th ed.), by Twila Slesnick (Res:KF3510.Z9.S55 2007)
7. Labor Law, by Margaret C. Jasper (Res:KF3369.6.J37 1998)
8. Sexual Harassment on the Job: What It Is & How to Stop It (4th national ed.), by William Petrocelli (3:KF3467.Z9.P47 1998)
9. Your Rights in the Workplace (9th ed.), by Barbara Kate Repa (Res:KF3455.Z9.R77 2010)

Environmental

1. Environmental Law, by Margaret C. Jasper (Res:KF3775.Z9.J37 1997)

Estate Planning (Wills, Trusts, Powers of Attorney, etc.)

1. 8 Ways to Avoid Probate (8th ed.), by Mary Randolph (Res:KF750.Z9.R36 2006)
2. Estate Planning (2nd ed.), by Margaret C. Jasper (Res:KF750.Z9.J37 2001)
3. Estate Planning Basics (5th ed.), by Denis Clifford (Res:KF750.Z9.C585 2009)
4. The Financial Power of Attorney Workbook (2nd ed.), by Shae Irving (3:KF1347.Z9.I78 1999)
5. Make Your Own Living Trust (10th ed.), by Denis Clifford (KF734.Z9.C57 2011)
6. Nolo’s Will Book (3rd national ed.), by Denis Clifford (KF755.Z9.C54 1997)
7. Plan Your Estate (10th ed.), by Denis Clifford (Res:KF750.Z9.C59 2010)
8. Quick & Legal Will Book (2nd ed.), by Denis Clifford (Res.:KF755.Z9.C55 2006)

General

1. 101 Law Forms for Personal Use (4th ed.) Robin Leonard (Res:KF170.L46 2004)
2. Dictionary of Selected Legal Terms (2nd ed.), by Margaret C. Jasper (Res:KF156.J37 2001)
3. Government on the Net, by James H. Evans (3:Z1223.Z7.E93 1998)
4. How to Mediate Your Dispute, by Peter Lovenheim (3:KF9084.Z9.L68 1996)
5. The Independent Paralegal’s Handbook: How to Provide Legal Services Without Becoming a Lawyer (5th ed.), by Ralph E. Warner (3:KF320.L4.W37 1997)
6. Law on the Net and Government on the Net (2nd national ed.), by James H. Evans (3:KF242.1.E94 1997 CD)
7. Mad At Your Lawyer, by Tanya Starnes (3:KF311.Z9.S73 1996)
8. More Everyday Legal Forms (2nd ed.), by Margaret C. Jasper (Res:KF170.S47 2001)
9. Nolo’s Encyclopedia of Everyday Law: Answers to Your Most Frequently Asked Legal Questions (8th ed.), by Shae Irving (Res:KF387.N65 2011)
10. Nolo’s Pocket Guide to California Law (4th ed.), by Lisa Guerin (1:KFC81.G83 1996)
11. Represent Yourself in Court (7th ed.), by Paul Bergman & Sara J. Berman-Barrett (Res:KF8841.B47 2010)

Guardianship and Conservatorship

1. Guardianship, Conservatorship and the Law, by Margaret C. Jasper (Res:KF553.J37 2008)

Health and Medical

1. AIDS Law (3rd ed.), by Margaret C. Jasper (Res:KF3803.A54.J37 2008)
2. Beat the Nursing Home Trap: A Consumer’s Guide to Assisted Living and Long-Term Care (3rd ed.), by Joseph L. Matthews (3:RA644.5.M38 1999)
3. Hospital Liability Law (2nd ed.), by Margaret C. Jasper (Res:KF3825.3.J37 2008)
4. The Law of Medical Malpractice (2nd ed.), by Margaret C. Jasper (Res:KF2905.3.Z9.J37 2001)

Immigration

1. The Law of Immigration (3rd ed.), by Margaret C. Jasper (Res:KF4819.3.J37 1996)
2. U.S.Immigration Made Easy (13th ed.), by Ilona M. Bray (Res:KF4819.85.U2 2007)

Insurance

1. Insurance Law, by Margaret C. Jasper (Res:KF1164.6.J37 1998)
2. The Law of No-Fault Insurance (2nd ed.), by Margaret C. Jasper (Res:KF1219.5.Z9.J37 2002)

Intellectual Property (Patent, Trademark, Copyright, etc.)

1. The Copyright Handbook: What Every Writer Needs to Know (11th ed.), by Stephen Fishman (Res:KF2995.F53 2011)
2. Copyright Your Software (3rd ed.), by Stephen Fishman (3:KF3024.C6.F57 2001)
3. The Inventor’s Notebook: A "Patent It Yourself" Companion (5th ed.), by Fred Grissom & David Pressman (Res:KF3120.Z9.G75 2008)
4. The Law of Copyright (2nd ed.), by Margaret C. Jasper (Res:KF2995.J37 2000)
5. The Law of Patents (2nd ed.), by Margaret C. Jasper (Res:KF3905.Z9.J37 2000)
6. The Law of Trademarks, by Margaret C. Jasper (Res:KF3180.Z9.J37 2000)
7. License Your Invention (2nd ed.), by Richard Stim (3:KF3131.Z9.S75 2000)
8. The Patent Drawing Book, by Jack Lo (3:T223.U3.L6 1997)
9. Patent It Yourself (13th ed.), by David Pressman (Res:KF3114.6.P74 2008)
10. Patent Searching Made Easy: How to Do Patent Searches on the Internet and in the Library (5th ed.), by David Hitchcock (Res:T210.H58 2009)
11. Web & Software Development: A Legal Guide (3rd ed.), by Stephen Fishman (KF390.5.C6.F57 2002)
12. Trademark: Legal Care for Your Business & Product Name (8th ed.), by Stephen Elias & Richard Stim (Res:KF3180.Z9.M28 2007)

Legal Research and Writing

1. Legal Research: How to Find and Understand the Law (15th ed.), by Stephen Elias (Res:KF240.E35 2009)
2. Legal Research Online and in the Library, by Stephen Elias (3:KF242.A1.E43 1998)

Motor Vehicle

1. Motor Vehicle Law, by Margaret C. Jasper (Res:KF2230.J37 1998)

Music

1. Music Law: How to Run Your Band’s Business (2nd ed.), by Richard Stim (3:KF390.E57.S87 2001)

Obscenity and Pornography

1. The Law of Obscenity and Pornography (2d ed.), by Margaret C. Jasper (3:KF9444.Z9.J37 2009)

Personal Injury and Defamation

1. How to Win Your Personal Injury Claim (7th ed.), by Joseph L. Matthews (Res:KF1257.M37 2009)
2. The Law of Libel & Slander, by Margaret C. Jasper (Res:KF1266.Z9.J37 1996)
3. The Law of Personal Injury (2nd ed.), by Margaret C. Jasper (Res:KF1257.Z9.J37 2000)
4. The Law of Product Liability (2nd ed.) , by Margaret C. Jasper (Res:KF1296.J37 2001)
5. Victim’s Rights Law, by Margaret C. Jasper (Res:KF9763.Z9.J37 1997)

Property

1. Every Landlord’s Legal Guide (10th ed.), by Marcia Stewart, Ralph Warner, and Janet Portman (Res:KF590.Z9.S74 2010)
2. Every Tenant’s Legal Guide (6th ed.), by Janet Portman (Res:KF590.Z9.P67 2009)
3. The Landlord’s Law Book (5th California ed.), by David Wayne Brown (1:KFC145.Z9.B76 1996)
4. The Law of Premises Liability, by Margaret C. Jasper (Res:KF1287.J87 2000)
5. Leases & Rental Agreements (8th ed.), by Marcia Stewart, Ralph Warner & Janet Portman (Res:KF950.Z9.S744 2005)
6. Neighbor Law: Fences, Trees, Boundaries & Noise (7th ed.), by Emily Doskow & Cora Jordan (Res:KF639.Z9.J67 2011)
7. Real Estate Law for the Homeowner & Broker (2nd ed.), by Margaret C. Jasper (Res:KF665.Z9.J37 2000)
8. Renters’ Rights: the Basics (6th ed.), by Janet Portman (Res:KF590.Z9.P673 2009)
9. Utah Landlord Tenant Law, by Utah Volunteer Lawyers Project of Utah Legal Services, Inc. (Res:KFU117.U82 1997)
10. Your Rights As a Tenant, by Margaret C. Jasper (Res:KF5909.J37 2007)

Religion

1. Religion and the Law, by Margaret C. Jasper (Res:KF4865.Z9.J37 1998)

Right to Die

1. The Right to Die (2nd ed.), by Margaret C. Jasper (Res:KF3827.E87.J37 2000)

Small Claims Courts

1. Everybody’s Guide to Small Claims Court (13th ed.), by Ralph Warner (Res:KF8769.Z9.W37 2010)
2. Small Claims Courts, by Margaret C. Jasper (Res:KF8769.Z9.J37 2005)

Social Security

1. Social Security Law (2nd ed.), by Margaret C. Jasper (Res:KF3650.J37 2004)
2. Social Security, Medicare & Government Pensions: Get the Most Out of Your Retirement & Medical Benefits (15th ed.), by Joseph Matthews and Dorothy Matthews Berman (Res:KF3650.M37 2010)

Taxes

1. 9 Ways to Avoid Estate Taxes (1st ed.), by Denis Clifford (3:KF6585.C583 1998)
2. Stand Up to the IRS (10th ed.), by Frederick W. Daily (Res:KF6324.Z9.D345 2009)
3. Tax Savvy for Small Business (13th ed.), by Frederick W. Daily (Res:KF6491.D35 2010)
4. Wage Slave No More: Law and Taxes for the Self-Employed (2nd ed.), by Stephen Fishman (3:KF390.I54.F57 1998)

Travel

1. Trouble-Free Travel . . . and What to Do When Things Go Wrong (2nd ed.), by Stephen D. Colwell (3:G151.C65 1998)

Workers' Compensation

1. Workers' Compensation Law (2nd ed.), by Margaret C. Jasper (Res:KF3615.Z9.J37 2008)

 

(Last Revised 3/4/2013)