Howard W. Hunter Law Library

Legal Research Guide #8

Locating Federal Materials on the Internet

 Judicial Sources

U.S. Supreme Court Decisions

• Cornell’s Legal Information Institute
  

  Coverage: 1990 forward; some “historical” (pre-1990) cases

• FedWorld/FLITE
  

  Coverage: Decisions from 1937-1975

• FindLaw U.S. Supreme Court Decisions
  

  Coverage: Decisions 1906 to the present (200 U.S. – )

• Washlaw 

Circuit Court Decisions

• FindLaw
  
  
• FDsys
• LII: Search all US Circuit Court of Appeals Opinions on the Internet (Cornell)
  

  Coverage: Varies by circuit—generally full coverage beginning 1995

• The Federal Courts Locator (Villanova)
  

  Coverage:Varies by circuit—generally full coverage beginning 1995

District Court Decisions

• FindLaw 
• FDsys

Legislative and Administrative Sources

General Sources of Legislative and Administrative Law

Generally, coverage begins with the 104th Congress of 1995.

FDsys

• The Budget of the United States Government, 1997-
• Congressional Bills, 103rd Congress forward
• Congressional Directory, 1997-2002
• Congressional Documents, 104th Congress forward
• Congressional Record, 1994-
• Congressional Reports, 104th Congress forward
• Congressional Record Index, 1995-
• Economic Report of the President 1996
• Federal Register &Unified Agenda, 1994
• GAO Comptroller General Decisions, October 1995-
• General Accounting Office (GAO) Reports, October 1994-
• Government Manual
• History of Bills, 1996-
• House Rules and Manual
• Public and Private Laws, 104th Congress forward
• Supreme Court Decisions (1937-1975)
• United States Code
• Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents

Internet Law Library (formerly House of Representatives Internet Law Library) — Federal Laws

• U.S. Federal Laws
• U.S. State Laws
• Laws of Other Nations
• Treaties and International Law
• U.S. Code

Thomas

• Bills, Resolutions
• Congressional Record: Text and Index
• Presidential Nominations
• Treaties
• Committee Reports
• Government Resources
• House of Representatives
• Senate
• U.S. Code

Washlaw

• Agencies
• Code of Fed. Regs.
• Congress. Bills
• Congress. Record
• Executive Orders
• Federal Register
• Government Docs
• Legisl. Statutes
• Statutes-At-Large
• U.S. Code

Specific Sources of Legislative and Administrative Law

• Bills/Bill Tracking

  Thomas 

• Code of Federal Regulations

  FDsys 

• Congressional Record

  FDsys 
  

  Thomas 

• Federal Register

  FDsys 

• U.S. Code

  U.S. Code Collection 

  GPO Access 
  

(Last Revised 3/7/2013)