Introductory Resources - Websites
- Antitrust Law: An IntroductionBrief overview of U.S. Antitrust Law from the Congressional Research Service
- The Antitrust Laws - U.S. Department of Justice Antitrust DivisionBackground on types of illegal antitrust activity.
- Guide to Antitrust Laws - Federal Trade CommissionAntitrust laws and their enforcement in the United States
Introductory Resources - Books
These titles are available in the Law Library's Reserve Room, on the second floor near the Circulation Desk.
Antitrust Law, Policy and Procedure: Cases, Materials, Problems by
Casebook on Antitrust Law
Call Number: KF 1649 .S86 2009ISBN: 9781422472156Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Antitrust Law and Economics in a Nutshell by
Gellhorn, Kovacic, and Calkins' Antitrust Law and Economics in a Nutshell enhances understanding of antitrust laws, and includes the latest Supreme Court cases. This reliable guide on antitrust law gives special attention to the expanded role of evidentiary standards and the procedural screens in determining litigation outcomes. A look into recent revisions of public enforcement, immunity-related doctrines, and government intervention is also included.
Call Number: KF 1642 .G44 2004ISBN: 9780314257239Publication Date: 2004-08-19
Antitrust Law in Perspective by
Casebook on Antitrust Law
Call Number: KF 1649 .G38 2017ISBN: 9780314266057Publication Date: 2016-12-16
Antitrust Stories by
Drawing on history, economics, politics, and law, Fox and Crane's Antitrust Stories provide a glimpse behind the texts of well-known legal opinions into the larger-than-life personalities and struggles of their antagonists and protagonists. Cases have been selected to provide a historical sampling of different eras of antitrust enforcement. They range from Standard Oil at the founding of U.S. antitrust to Microsoft in the new economy. This title is an invaluable supplement to any antitrust casebook, and the inclusion of cases with international aspects, including GE/Honeywell, Empagran, and Alcoa, makes it useful for courses on comparative or international competition policy.
Call Number: KF 1649 .A76 2007ISBN: 9781599410920Publication Date: 2007-08-24
Competition and Antitrust Law: a Very Short Introduction by
Very Short Introductions: Brilliant, Sharp, Inspiring Competition is responsible for much of the prosperity around us. Competitive markets deliver lower prices, better quality, abundance of choice, and increased innovation. But while competition benefits the consumers, it can prove challenging to producers and sellers, who need to constantly improve to stay in business. As a result, sellers may sometimes look for ways to dampen the competitive process. Our antitrust and competition laws are designed to address these risks and safeguard consumer welfare. The competition enforcers have the task of unravelling price-fixing cartels, challenging powerful companies that abuse their power, and monitoring proposed merger transactions that could undermine effective competition. In doing so, competition enforcers have to carefully consider the level of intervention and ensure they do not distort the natural dynamics of competition. Drawing on case studies from the US and the European Union, this Very Short Introduction explores the promise and limitations of competitive market dynamics. In examining the laws and the way they are enforced, Ariel Ezrachi considers the delicate relationship between a free market economy and government intervention, and the fascinating forces of competition that shape modern society. ABOUT THE SERIES: The Very Short Introductions series from Oxford University Press contains hundreds of titles in almost every subject area. These pocket-sized books are the perfect way to get ahead in a new subject quickly. Our expert authors combine facts, analysis, perspective, new ideas, and enthusiasm to make interesting and challenging topics highly readable.
Call Number: K 3850 .E97 2021ISBN: 9780198860303Publication Date: 2021-10-01- The Foundations of Antitrust by
The Foundations of Antitrust: Events, Ideas, and Doctrines approaches antitrust in a novel way to provide students and practitioners with a foundation for analyzing antitrust issues in the twenty-first century. The book is organized around events, ideas, and doctrines, rather than practices or cases. Part I examines developments in the economy prompting antitrust law, as well as the public policy debates, presidential politics, legislation, and the landmark cases of the formative era. Part II explores ideas that shaped antitrust policy, including early economic thought and the Chicago School. Part III examines the core doctrines of antitrust law, their common law antecedents, the application of antitrust to today's tech giants, and the global reach of U.S. antitrust law.
Call Number: KF 1649 .W47 2020ISBN: 9781531019693Publication Date: 2020-06-01
Law and Economics in a Nutshell by
This guide provides expert coverage of the classic issues, including basic price theory; definitions of efficiency; the Coase Theorem; and the economics of contract law, tort law, criminal law, regulation, antitrust, and intellectual property. The text also discusses less conventional topics such as public choice, what it means to be a rational maximizer of self-interest, the assumptions underlying economic analysis as applied to law, limitations on the application of economic theory to law, the theory of second best, the prisoner's dilemma, the economics of marriage, the economics of inheritance, evolutionary theories of law, the economics of settlement, and the implications of recent research into happiness.
Call Number: K 487 .E3 .H37 2020ISBN: 9781684675159Publication Date: 2020-10-12
The Law of Antitrust, an Integrated Handbook by
This updated edition of a venerable antitrust law treatise will meet the needs of lawyers, judges, scholars, and students. As in prior editions, it provides a clear statement of the law, visits unresolved issues and areas of controversy, and provides a candid assessment of the strengths and weaknesses of the various positions. The new edition also contains a more user-friendly index.
Call Number: KF 1649 .S92 2023ISBN: 9781647089382Publication Date: 2023-07-20
Principles of Antitrust by
Nearly all of the aspects of federal antitrust policy are covered in this book. And it's written so you don't need a background in economics to understand it. Expert narration states the "black letter" law and presents policy arguments for alternatives. Text also includes an analysis of recent Supreme Court and lower-court decisions.
Call Number: KF 1649 .H672 2021ISBN: 9781684674367Publication Date: 2020-12-14
